Ping Pong

IMG_4189

This weekend I chose to travel to Phnom Penh and spend a bit of time away from my site. Monday is a national holiday, and we have the day off. My supervisor, Bong Ing (Bong is the term for someone older than you, also used to show respect), had told me about his ping pong team he meets with in the city. Today, I was invited to join them and play some table tennis.

Ing and I met his team at a rather official-looking ping pong gym. There were over 10 tables set up with netting around each one to catch stray balls. I was greeted to the noises of paddles returning serves, and yells of both approval and disappointment. As it turns out, “table talk” is not unique to the United States. I caught Ing calling his friends “weak” a few different times.

I was pretty rusty, and Bong Ing and all of his team were much better than me. They play doubles and rotate, and I was always on a team with Ing. Most of the time, we managed to get in a few points before the other team beat us, but a few times the other team would score 8 points before we scored any, signaling an early end to the game (house rules).

Despite my lack of skill, I never felt like an outsider. Everyone let me borrow their paddle at least once. They made sure I had water to drink. And a few of them gave me pointers, demonstrating the “slice” and the “smash.” After a particularly dismal round on my part, one of Ing’s friends showed me how his paddle worked. He had a “control” side and a “smash” side; one to use for accurate backhand shots, and one to use for aggressive forehand shots. He took the paddle from me and showed me how to hold it properly.

My favorite pointer came during the final game of the evening. Our opponents seemed to be taking it easy on Ing and me. When I mentioned this, one of the men shook his head.

“No, we are just tired! We have been playing for a long time. We would not go easy on you, you will not get better that way.”

I felt guilty for my accusation.

He then gave me another pointer.

“Always stay balanced. Do not let yourself become discouraged. Staying balanced in your stance and in your mind is the most important thing a ping pong player can learn.”

I was very happy to have been included in a fun activity with Bong Ing outside of work, away from the office. Ing’s team plays every weekend, and they told me I am welcome to join them whenever I want. I’m looking forward to many more afternoons at the ping pong gym.

Author: colterincambodia

Spending a year living in Cambodia through the Young Adults in Global Mission (YAGM) program, working with the Life With Dignity NGO in Phnom Kravanh.

2 thoughts on “Ping Pong”

  1. Isn’t it amazing that everything…EVERYTHING…is parable if we choose to look for it. A life lesson in skin & bone. Jesus did that perfectly. You’re pretty good at it, too. 😊
    I love you, Bear.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you played Ping-pong with Bong-Ing and his group. I love to think of you, Colter, connecting with people in Cambodia, because people are people wherever you go, Right? Also, thanks for your thought provoking discussion of clean drinking water, or lack of, in previous post.
    Love Aunt Beth

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment